Studio Montclair Opening Reception: State of the Art 2013

 ,   Add to calendar
 Montclair  See map

Studio Montclair (SMI) announces “State of the Art 2013,” an exhibit on view from January 23 to April 22, 2013, featuring the most recent work of SMI members. The exhibit will take place in Studio Montclair’s galleries at Academy Square, the SMI Gallery @ Academy Square and the SMI Virginia S. Block Gallery, located on the first and second floors of Academy Square 33 Plymouth Street in Montclair. All are invited to the opening reception on Friday, January 25, from 7 to 9 pm. The galleries are open to the public 7 am to 7 pm Monday through Friday.

 This year Studio Montclair is pleased to have as juror Patterson Sims, an independent art curator, writer, and consultant, and a former director of the Montclair Art Museum. “It was gratifying to see the continued vitality and breadth of the artists in Montclair and vicinity and to recall once again how the combination of the potent presences of the Montclair Art Museum, Montclair State University, the Montclair Library, and the town's other facilities make the town such a vibrant cultural and creative magnet and center,” said Sims.

“State of the Art 2013” includes the work in a variety of styles and media from 75 SMI members. The artists featured in the exhibit are: Cary Africk, Barry Altman, Catherine Meier Asher, Susanna Baker, Amy Becker, Virginia Schaffer Block, Keira Boertzel-Smith, Irene Costello Brandle, Judi Brice, Ron Brown, Robyn Burns, Jeanne V. Campbell, Pauline Chernichaw, Dorothy Cochran, Pam Cooper, Brian Croshaw, Chris Dabagian, Marilyn Deitchman, Lorraine DeProspo, Maryann Didriksen, Dana Di Muro, William Dunnell, Leslie A. Ford, Vicki Reikes Fox, Beverly A. Fredericks, Margaret Furlong, Ritika Gandhi, Alison Golder, Elaine Golt Gongora, Allan Gorman, Orna Greenberg, Betty Guernsey, Joan E. Hain, Susan H. Hammond, Alice Harrison, Marsha Heller, Horst Hoyer, Charles Hunter, Roy Imhoff, Linda Ippolito, Katherine Y. Jennings, Lissanne Lake, Milton Landman, Carole S. Lane, Fran Legman, Eric Levin, Yvette Lucas, Maria Lupo, Valerie Lewis Mankoff, Bonnie Maranz, Fernando Mariscal, Susan Marx, Michael F. McKenna, Sally W. Morris, Diane Neglio, Karen Nielsen-Fried, Nancy Ori, Chas Palminteri, Arthur Paxton, Isabella Pizzano, Ronni Pressman, Mary Reach, Connie Legakis Robinson, Dave Rogers, George Saj, Ellen Sawicki, Heather Shaw, Stefanie Silverman, Alice Stoler, Linda Streicher, Irv Suss, Theodosia A.G. Tamborlane, Peter O. Tilgner, Richard Toglia, and Diane Whitebay.

The Academy Square gallery directors are Virginia Schaffer Block, Karen Nielsen-Fried, and Pam Cooper.

Studio Montclair Inc. is a non-profit organization of exhibiting professional and emerging artists and others interested in the visual arts. The mission of the organization is to promote culture and education in the visual arts.

This program is made possible in part by funds from the New Jersey State Council on the Arts/Department of State, a Partner Agency of the National Endowment for the Arts and administered by the Essex County Division of Cultural and Historic Affairs.

Rhoda Kriesel January 28, 2013 at 07:22 PM
This is confusing. I think the opening reception was last Friday, the 25. You are showing a reception from 7-9 every night of the week. Don't think that's correct, is it?


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »